My Family and Background

Family photo 2014My Family

Like many of you, my family is my foundation. I live in the Kings Park community with my wife, Valerie; our daughters Sarah, Amanda, and Laura; and our twin boys, Andrew and Steven.

Education is important to us as a family. Valerie worked for seventeen years at the U.S. Department of Education and our oldest, Jessica, teaches first grade in Hampton, Va. My mother taught Kindergarten and pre-school for many years. Sarah attends Lake Braddock Secondary School where she runs Cross-Country and sings in the Chorus. Amanda and Laura attend our terrific Kings Glen and Kings Park Elementary Schools. They enjoy music and dance activities.

Valerie and I appreciate the safe neighborhood in which we live and the friendships we have built in the community. I am an avid baseball fan and a Washington Nationals season ticket holder. As a family, we look for ways to enjoy together all that Fairfax County has to offer.

My Background and Education

I grew up in Delhi, NY, and received my B.A. degree, magna cum laude, from Gettysburg College in 1985, where I was also selected as a member of Phi Beta Kappa. I have continued by affiliation with Gettysburg over the years, often participating in career days and other functions. Several years ago I served on Gettysburg’s “Commission on the Future,” which charted a course for the future of the institution.

I received my J.D. degree from George Washington University Law School in 1988 and continued my affiliation there by serving as an adjunct professor of law for three years. I am a former assistant corporation counsel for the District of Columbia and began my career in the federal government working on welfare reform regulations.